Freaky

When I got my weights program at the gym, the trainer told me to do 2 x 10-15 reps of each exercise so basically I’ve been doing that but when I get to 15 reps, I put the weight up next time (as you’d expect).

That’s all fine and dandy, except with the deadlifts.  I started on 30 kgs which was challenging but soon bumped that up.  Added more weight, still managed 15 reps easily, more weight, more weight.  I’m now up to 60 kgs and, while it’s challenging for me, I’m still managing to pump out 15 reps.

Is that normal?  I’ve doubled the weight in a month!  I’m a bit worried about adding any more weight cos once apon a time I hurt my back doing deadlifts wrong. 

I think I might grab one of the trainers and ask them about it and also get them to check my form so I know I’m not going to wreck myself. 

Also, I’ve pulled a muscle in my shoulder!  Not from doing weights but on the punching bag.  I think I have punching bag issues.  I really like hitting stuff. 

To me, it’s not like exercise.  It’s like when you are playing a computer game or something and you get so wrapped up in it that you are oblivious to everything around you.  That means if something starts hurting, I’ll keep going!

Anyway, I have only been working out on the bag cos the one class I can get to at the gym is boring as hell and not challenging so I’m thinking of getting a PT so my boxing technique doesn’t go to hell.  Also I think I can afford it now as I HAVE A NEW JOB!   A 12 month contract with much more $$$ and around the corner from the gym.  Perfecto.

4 responses to “Freaky

  1. congrats on the new job. But what happened to going to Japan to live?

  2. WOOT!
    Punching stuff is good 🙂

  3. Congrats on the new job! You’ll be one buff boxer in no time! 🙂

  4. Great news about the new contract !

Leave a comment