Oops!

I wagged the gym last night but got home and felt guilty so went out for a run.  A slow run but more run than walk which is a good change from my usual efforts.

Got home and was feeling all virtuous and stuff.  Grabbed a bottle of water out of the fridge and sat down to check emails.  Then, god damn it, knocked the bottle onto the laptop. 

It was only a tiny spill but I panicked and, instead of turning the laptop off straight away, tried to mop it up.  I grabbed my cardi off the chair but that just pressed the water further into it the keys.  Then I ran to the bathroom and grabbed some toilet paper — before turning it off!

It went a bit funny — ie. in Japanese, then turned itself off.  I can’t turn it back on.

Okay, I have to confess, I did another stupid thing.  I tried to turn it back on.  That is like totally bad.

So I’ve got it propped upside down to dry out but it wouldn’t turn on this morning. 

Damn.

Damn.

Damn.

I have stuff I need on that laptop.

7 responses to “Oops!

  1. not sure where you live, but BusinessWorks in Camberwell rescued me when I did a similar thing last year.

    Great service, etc, etc.
    http://www.businessworks.com.au/

  2. I’d say that you shouldn’t lose data, unlikely that the water would get into hard disk. It might cost you some money, but hopefully your data will be recoverable.

  3. Fingers crossed it’ll be okay!!!

  4. I was going to say what Andrew said, still a bummer but hopefully the hard drive is intact.

  5. If you are fairly sure the computer is fritzed (or if you don’t have money for it otherwise) you can actually remove the hard drive yourself and access the info. Get a hard drive case from a computer store (about $10), unscrew the part of your laptop which enables you to access the hard drive, take it out, plug it into the case and you should be able to access it through the USB of any computer.

    If the computer people are confident that it is fritzed they often won’t charge you for it – but make sure you ask for the computer back so that you can get the harddrive out – they often say that they will dispose of it for you (read raid it for spare parts).

    • Thanks 🙂 They actually offered to take out the hd for me and make it into an external hd. It’s costing a bit more than $10 but saves me having to try to do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

