Start Again

One of the lessons I seem to have to learn over and over is that, once you fall off the wagon, there’s not going to be a magic moment when you regain your sparkle and drive.

When you have an insane food-fest, the sugar turns to syrup in your blood; the fat conceals.  You’d think all that energy in would make you want to run around like crazy, burning it off but, once you get past the age of about 10, it doesn’t happen.  Instead you sink into an inert stupor.

Yesterday, I had a nap and woke up thinking I could start the exercise program tomorrow.  There is always tomorrow and I felt blerk.  Tomorrow maybe I wouldn’t feel blerk…

But I made myself get out the door and go for a run. 

What a shock.  As well as the weight spinning out of control over the break, I’ve gotten really, really bad at running.  It took me an hour to make 5kms!  Most of that was a walk because my calves and hamstrings killed (although I think my shoes are partially to blame).  Not enough running, and too much of the running I do is on the treadmill.

Once apon a time, I could run 5 km in 30 mins.  That was slow!  Now it takes me twice as long… therefore way beyond slow.

By the end of the year, I want to not just get back to my old speed but surpass it.

The plan is to get back to running 5 km continuously, then get faster.

All the damage that has been done can be undone.

3 responses to “Start Again

  1. It won’t take you a whole year. As a fellow-sailor on the good ship “december scoff-fest”, I’m with you on dammit I have to pull MYSELF out of this, the stupid motivation fairy won’t be coming for a while. But we CAN do it. We know how

  2. I am with Al, we know how to do it, we have done it before- the fact you headed out for a run is great- I just lay on the couch wishing for elastic waisted pants.

  3. Hey, I’m in Melbourne for four days, starting on Thursday. I CANNOT get myself out on a run on my own, but I can definitely get out and meet someone to run. Are you interested? Although if you get up to your usual speed by the end of the year, you’ll have to slow down for me.

Leave a Reply

