Melb Marathon

The year before last, I ran the half in the Melbourne Marathon.  Last year I ran a very slow and painful 10 kms.  I was in the zone – the geriatic zone.  My legs just didn’t want to work.

This year, with all the no running and problems I’ve had, I didn’t even consider running.  I didn’t want to do an even slower and more painful 10 kms.  I didn’t want to do 5 kms.  I thought about the half a few months ago but would never have been able to do it.

So, I got an email this week and decided to opt out all together and volunteer instead.  I’ve always wanted to volunteer at a running event.  I think all the folks working at these things do an amazing job and really appreciate how just a smile or word of encouragement can help lift your spirits (even though I like to have my ipod on when I run, at fun runs I always take the ear buds out when I pass the marshalls cos it’s rude not to).

Anyway, I’ll be working at the finish line somewhere on the day so hope to see lots of familar faces looking triumphant.

5 responses to “Melb Marathon

  1. Still haven’t decided what I’m going to do, it’ll be the 5k or the 10k.

  2. Hi Kathryn catching up on your blog 🙂

    I am still undecided as well, was originally aiming for the half again, then it was the 10km but as it looms closer, it may very well be the 5km! Well done for volunteering 🙂

    I can totally relate to your past posts about your weight and how you look. When I started running in 2006, I was also doing the gym and running. I was at my best weight and looked fabulous 😉 I really need to take a leaf out of your book and do something about it!!

  3. I’ll be there before 2pm, oh yes I will 🙂

  4. Ooh I’d love to volunteer. How are you getting into it?

  5. Yay, I’m volunteering too, it’s fun, especially the finish line gig, you get heaps of sweaty hugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

