Interesting…

I read this article today.  It was totally eye opening!  Go read it. 

However, if you are like me and too lazy to click on links in someone’s post, this is a brief summary.   Basically the writer is saying that the key to happiness is self-discipline.  For example, if you go to the gym every day, you feel happier but you need the self-discipline to go to the gym.

Following on from that, she says that self-discipline has a snowball effect.  If you work hard to have self-discipline in one small area of your life, you start acting that way in other areas too. 

I’ve really noticed this myself, without putting my thoughts into such a coherent order.  When I have a few small goals, say drinking 8 glasses of water a day + some exercise etc then I start to get on a spiral of doing more and more good things for myself.  It makes sense – start small and you aren’t overwhelmed by having to be perfect.  Meet your goals and you start to see yourself as a goal achieving type person.  Plus, the hardest thing is to get started.

The opposite is true too I think.  Start slacking off in one area and everything starts to get harder. 

When I was going great guns with weight loss, I also did so much more.  Not because I was losing weight (although maybe partly due to having more energy from eating well and exercising), but also because I had the self-discipline thing happening.  I spent more time writing, more time working towards the things that are important to me. 

At the moment, I’m Slacky McSlack Off. 

For the next few weeks, I’m going to work on being disciplined about doing a few small things.  No epic changes, just getting that self-discipline muscle activated.  It’s a good way to start.

Anyway, go read the article.

4 responses to “Interesting…

  1. Execllent post Kathryn! Nail on Head.

  2. So, so true hon! That’s why I like the whole idea of “just do it” too. If I don’t do it, I don’t do anything and become miserable.

    Phil wrote something a while back on her blog which I think is along the same lines too, “Eating well and exercising creates a positive cycle. If you eat well and exercise, you feel good, and if you feel good, you’re more inclined to eat well and exercise”.

    Great post hon, we all need to be reminded!

  3. Love love LOVE it – I’m on that track again too after too many weeks saying, well, when I finish exams/run melb/gold coast I’ll worry about what I’m eating/drinking (makes sense huh? NOT). That discipline muscle starts working out today. Thanks Kathryn

  4. That is a good article, and an interesting blog site. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

