Kathryn states the obvious!

Since I got home, I’ve been doing little exercise (or anything really).  I’ve been feeling a bit sniffly and sick plus really lethargic so figured I’d wait for that to pass before getting back into an exercise routine.  I wanted to clean up and reorganise things at home too but kept putting it off.

So on Saturday I decided to stop being a big baby and just suck it up and do something.  Something is better than nothing, right?

I figured I could do an “easy” workout at home – run down the stairs, do 10 squats, run up the stairs and do 10 pushups – repeat 10 times.  OMG that was not easy!  I had to change the pushups to crunches halfway throughso my arms didn’t drop off (they are still sore today).

After I finished, I decided instead of sitting on my butt and being all self-congratulatory over my efforts, I’d keep moving.  Once you’ve got your heart rate up, that’s BONUS TIME!  Anyway, spending that long on the floor doing pushups and crunches made me realise how much I needed to clean the floors. 

I started off sweeping and tidying.  Ended up completely moving furniture and reorganising my bedroom.  It’s so much more spacious and unannoying now.

Then today I went for my first run in forever (I reckon close to a month).  It was a hard slog but I feel so much better now. 

Anyway, my point is you can’t wait for energy to come to you.  That’s never going to happen.  You need to start moving.  Use energy = get energy.

8 responses to “Kathryn states the obvious!

  1. Agree – I did a home workout the other night, after feeling really lethargic. Afterwards I did my ironing!

  2. You can sit around thinking about it, reading about it, talking about it, planning it, but that’s not helping you achieve your goals. In the end you have to DO IT.

    Nice one.

  3. I think this is one of my all time favourite posts. I’m rubbish at thinking of workouts I can do on my own (i.e. not at the gym) and that is an ideal example.

    So true about the energy thing too. I once had a P.E. teacher who said energy breeds energy. Here here!

  4. Could not agree more Kathryn! One of the best things for me to do when I’m feeling tired and “over it” is to do something – anything! This morning, for example, even though I was running late for work, I still ran there instead of taking the tube. I was feeling tired and knew the tube would suck and make me feel even more tired. It’s been three hours and the endorphins are still floating around! Whoo hoo!

    Action is always better than ambivalence.

    Go you!!

  5. Thanks Kathryn for stating the OBVIOUS! Because you know, as obvious as it might be to everyone else; I still need to be told sometimes…

  6. We all need to be reminded of the bloody obvious, often. That’s why we keep reading, buying the books, trying new things out and all for continued inspiration and refreshed motivation to keep going! 🙂

  7. Sensational and just what I needed to read right this minute 🙂

  8. Still waiting for my energy to come along. I know deep down that I should go to the gym tonight, but there’s just this little demon in my head saying that I can go in the morning instead, yet tonight is the perfect opportunity as I have to take Alana to cubs anyway and the gym is directly across the road 🙄

Leave a Reply

