Happy New Year

My 2009 didn’t start that well.  I woke up about 4 am after having a nightmare.  It wasn’t even scary – I’m not going into all the details – more like a stupid dream, but when I woke up, I was so very shaken.  I wanted to turn on all the lights in the house and every noise made me jump.  It’s weird how dreams can do that sometimes.

I had a very quiet NYE.  Today I think I’ll go out and look for a fun cafe where I can sit and write and eat and enjoy. 

My resolution for 2009 is to think positive.  Yah!  Life Rules!  See I’m starting already. 

I found out just before I left work yesterday that my contract might be finishing up soon than I thought (I was told end of Jan but it will prolly be mid-Jan).  This sent me into a whole panic about money and where I’m going to live (as in which city) and all that kind of thing.  I started thinking maybe none of my plans for the year will work out.  Worry, worry, worry… disaster lurks around the corner.

But, you know what, there is NO point in that kind of thinking.  Rather than preparing for disaster, dwelling on the bad things that might happen is just making me feel glum NOW.

Maybe things will be dire this year, maybe they won’t.  I’ve got to learn to deal with that when it happens, rather than get all caught up in what might be.  So many things up in the air, so much uncertainty – but that’s exciting, right! 

So 2009 is going to be a smashingly fantastic year of fun and excitement.  In 2009, I will shine!

7 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. I woke up today not having done anything for NYE and not exactly chipper but it is a whole new year and it’ll be what we make it, right? Happy New Year gorgeous, you always manage to land on your feet and I always enjoy the stories you have to tell along the way too 🙂 x

  2. Here’s to ANOTHER magnificent, fabulous year 🙂

  3. Kathryn, I hate it too when you have one of those dreams and wake up in a sweaty panic, thinking “it was a dream wasn’t it?”.

    I’m sure 2009 will be fine for you – you do strike me as a positive person already! So an even more positive Kathryn will be a sight to behold!

    Happy New Year!

  4. Ooh! Very “THe Secret” of you!

  5. Happy New Year Kathryn 🙂

  6. Happy New Year Kathryn, and you are so right. Worrying about the future just makes you sad now and then nothing ends up getting done which just brings forward the disaster you are trying to avoid… Well, that’s what I do anyway..

    As soon as I finish catching up with blogs, I am going straight onto the job sites and hope that everyone else is sleeping off really big hangovers and I will be the only one to apply in a sober tone LOL..

    This year is going to be amazing for you. Different, difficult, fun, spectacular and amazing. All at once.. Have faith in yourself, you are an amazing person, and I know it is hard to see it in yourself sometimes, just believe.

    Just believe. *hugs*

  7. HNY Kathryn, good to get to know you via your blog.
    You seem to make the best of what life throws at you and that is a great skill.

Leave a Reply

