2 Days to Japan: Meltdown!

I woke up with morning in a huge panic about everything I need to get down before I go – not that there is a lot, my mind is just racing a million miles an hour.  The main problem is that I have some work that came up unexpectedly to add in to my day and I can’t do it until tomorrow but I want to get my laptop (which I need to do the work) locked up in storage locker before they close the storage place, plus I want to get to the gym etc.

Then…

I checked the exchange rate.  The $AUD has dropped to an all time low of 58 Yen.  OMG!!!  That’s a drop of 12 yen in just a week.  I seriously don’t know what to do.  We booked a week’s accommodation in Tokyo thinking the $AUD was around Y100!  The hotel doesn’t take payment before check in so I’ve not paid for it. 

Instead of costing us around $1200 for the week, it’s now going to cost $2,100 or more.

I don’t know what to do – whether to just suck it up (and hope the dollar doesn’t drop any further before we get there) or to find somewhere else to stay.  If it was just me, it would be okay but my sister has less money saved than me.

3 responses to “2 Days to Japan: Meltdown!

  1. Oh geez babe – I’m sure it will all wok out in the end. I’ve got my fingers crossed for ya!

  2. I would say suck it up and put the thing on credit if you have to….you don’t go to Japan every day, do you?
    Lovely to meet you yesterday, I had fun 🙂

  3. I agree, you don’t go to Japan everyday! Suck it up for sure, we did in New York and just enjoy it!! I am so excited for you 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

