Happiness: part 2

Ì’d planned to write a list today of the small things in life that make me happy but then thought again.  Sure I love lots of things – I love spring, going out for walks and see all the trees in blossom and the jasmine and the magnolias.  I love snuggling in between fresh flannelette sheets on a cold winter night with a good book.  I love a good coffee – not just the taste but walking down to the coffee and talking to the staff, holding the cup in my hands, the smell – the whole ritual of coffee drinking.  I love buying shiny new shoes.

But the thing is, happiness doesn’t come from these things.  Some days you just bubble over with happiness like you aren’t enough to hold the joy of being alive within you for no reason at all.  Other days you could find out you’d won lotto and it’s be just another thing to worry about.  It’s crazy and random.

I guess there are some things within us that it easier to feel happy – getting enough sleep helps; being on top of things does too.  If I’m organised and rested, then I cope with day to day life.  The main thing for me though is balance – I love doing a billion things at once and being productive but I also have a tendency to slack off.  I’ve got to realise that slacking off is part of life.  Rather than feeling guilty about not constantly doing things, enjoying the down time.  I’ve also got to realise that while it’s good to have goals and work towards them, they aren’t the be all and end all of life.  Being focused is good, having tunnel vision isn’t.

On a more physical level, this week I’ve decide to concentrate on my core.  Not just as part of exercise but through out the day making sure my core is strong and my posture good – or, as my mum used to say, “suck your guts in”.

4 responses to “Happiness: part 2

  1. “I’ve got to realise that slacking off is part of life. Rather than feeling guilty about not constantly doing things, enjoying the down time. I’ve also got to realise that while it’s good to have goals and work towards them, they aren’t the be all and end all of life. ”

    Couldn’t have put it better! Amen to that! 🙂

  2. DUDE you are coming up with pearlers this week 🙂

    I loved the “suck your guts in” bit… that just distills the philosophy of pilates and all those abba dabba things 🙂

  3. You life certainly is what you make it. Positive perception I heard it called recently. Being unhappy is generally just a reaction you choose to some external influencer.

    I’m into concentrating on the core too!

  4. This post made me smile and smile

Leave a Reply

