Happiness

The other day I had a kind of epiphany – one of those things that you realise are blindingly obvious but you need that bang over the head to actually realise.  It struck me that that pursing a weight loss goal for the sake of losing weight is worthless; the real goal should be to be happy.

I don’t know about other people, but I’ve found the best way to break a bad habit is not to TRY to break the habit but to focus on other things.  I’ve definitely noticed this with weight loss – at times in my life I’ve gone through mountains of ‘I must lose weight’ angst, making plans for a whole diet regime that lasts until morning tea time (with the subsequent guilt and self-loathing).  At other times, losing weight has been the last thing on my mind; I’ve been caught up in a fury of projects and plans.  That’s when I lose weight.

Of course, any long term goal needs planning and organisation but I think what works is not focusing on the behaviour you want to change but rather on the good, the things that make you happy.

When I’m happy, I don’t need to constanly eat.  I don’t need to think about food.  I don’t need to obsess. 

I’ve been reading a lot about the relationship between stress/tiredness and weight.  I think that’s where my problems lie.  It’s not the neenish tarts – no way.  Well maybe the stress and tiredness make the neenish tarts look more enticing (maybe…) 

I don’t need to eat better to lose weight, I need to eat better to be happy.  I don’t need to exercise to lose weight, I need to exercise to feel good.  (I’ve actually noticed this after a few weeks of no cardio. As soon as I started doing some good, sweaty exercise my mood improved by 100%).  The end product isn’t a number on the scales, it’s a happier me.

9 responses to “Happiness

  1. I have added you to my blogroll. I am building it up.

  2. Kathryn, that is a very astute post ! In fact if there was a scale for astutenes, it would be 10/10 !

    You’re right, sometimes we do focus on the wrong things!

  3. The end product isn’t a number on the scales, it’s a happier me.

    You, are the freaking win. 😀

  4. and what a great point about NOT FOCUSING on the habit.
    Im a big believe in the Law of Attraction and this was an AH HA! moment for me.

    that we attract what we focus on!

  5. I love this post. You are so right. Do things to make yourself feel good. That’s such a healthy attitude. On that note I’m off to the gym cause although I can’t be arsed I know once I’m there I will feed good about myself.

    Thanks Kathryn!

  6. bloody brilliant 🙂

  7. AHA!
    You are a geniius
    At the mo I am back on the stickers – but I get stickers for doing something specific, not NOT doing something (if you see what I mean).

  8. Great post, and so true – I couldn’t agree more with you. It’s the people whose main aim is to get healthy and happy, not just to lose xkg, that will ultimately succeed.

Leave a Reply

