86 days: blahs and self pity!

I’m not in a good mood today.  I feel since I’ve set this challenge to lose weight before I go away, I’ve really achieved nothing.  I had such high hopes but seem to constantly sabotage myself and keep losing and gaining the same few kilograms.

Arrgghh, I just feel like crap today and that weight loss is a constant struggle – mental battles over every bit of food I want to put in my mouth, it wears you down.  I seem to remember this being easy.  Maybe it was or maybe that’s just the way things are when you look back.

I went to the football today, intending not to eat anything since I’d just had lunch but it was so damn cold, I ended up having chips and a couple of dim sims…just another day, another bad decision.  Struggle, struggle, struggle.  Maybe I won’t get over this until I work out WHY – part of me wants to succeed but there is obviously some part that doesn’t.

6 responses to “86 days: blahs and self pity!

  1. hey! I am hearing you. There is something that holds me back from the two digit mark every time I get there so maybe I should deal with it now, coz I think you look amazing, but you are still having the same mental issues as me. THanks for sharing!

  2. That guilty feeling after you’ve eaten something you shouldn’t is terrible isn’t it. It’s even worse when you didn’t particularly enjoy the said item.

    I haven’t got any answers for you – I find it difficult too sometimes – I’m lucky that I haven’t had any bad injuries, or I think without the exercise my weight would pile back on.

  3. Hang in there. the main thing is that you know you r going to do it – so you’ll keep looking for ways to make it happen. It WAS freezing, so hard when yummy chips are about.

  4. You are singing to the choir here! I know how to lose weight, I have done it before, but if there is a choice to make, I will always choose crap and then wonder why I did that. When you work out how to stop the self sabotage can you let me know?

  5. I hear you and the person who comes up with a solution will make a billion.

    Even when I am in the midst of a frenzy and know I doing the “wrong” thing and I am powerless to stop it.

    Why do we torture ourselves so?

    You’re a top chick and I love your frankness, try to dwell on it too much.

  6. “I seem to remember this being easy. Maybe it was or maybe that’s just the way things are when you look back.”

    I hear you on that one!

    I know how you feel, but I think that’s just life! No mental state persists forever, and if motivation were easy, the diet industry wouldn’t exist.

    I think you want to succeed. If you didn’t want to succeed, you wouldn’t have thought twice about your snack at the footy. And I think you hit the nail on the head a few posts ago too – having long term goals is great, but focus too much on the future and you end up missing out in the present. Enjoy the anticipation of the adventure that you’re about to embark upon – be excited about your wonderful trip! Be proud of the level of fitness you now have, thanks to all your running and hard work that you’ve put in there. Maybe ease the pressure on yourself a bit and just focus on being as healthy as possible for your trip. A few dim sims and chips here and there does not mean you’re a failure. It means you’re a normal human being who occasionally eats for the hell of it!

    You’ve done so much to be proud of Kathryn. I know it’s easier said than done, but try and see this for what it is – just a bit of a down day. I do so enjoy reading your posts and can’t wait to hear what you think of Japan!

    Keep going 🙂

Leave a Reply

