101 days

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this, but my fave writer is Haruki Marakami, mainly because he’s the greatest living writer in the world today.  I could go on for pages about how much I love his work but go read it for yourselves!  The other night I got an email from his publisher’s mailing list about a new book coming out. 

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

In 1982, having sold his jazz bar to devote himself to writing, Murakami began running to keep fit. A year later, he’d completed a solo course from Athens to Marathon, and now, after dozens of such races, not to mention triathlons and a dozen critically acclaimed books, he reflects upon the influence the sport has had on his life and—even more important—on his writing.

Equal parts training log, travelogue, and reminiscence, this revealing memoir covers his four-month preparation for the 2005 New York City Marathon and takes us to places ranging from Tokyo’s Jingu Gaien gardens, where he once shared the course with an Olympian, to the Charles River in Boston among young women who outpace him. Through this marvelous lens of sport emerges a panorama of memories and insights: the eureka moment when he decided to become a writer, his greatest triumphs and disappointments, his passion for vintage LPs, and the experience, after fifty, of seeing his race times improve and then fall back.

I’m very excited – so many of my favourite things combined in one memoir by my favourite writer!

On the diet front, this is not a good thing to do: getting weighed before bed on the way to the toilet, with a full bladder and lots of warm winter clothes WHILE HOLDING A FULL HOT WATER BOTTLE!

Something I’ve been thinking about lately – I’ve been reading Sharon’s blog, Goodbye To All Fat, and she talks a lot about relationships.  My own relationship history hasn’t been such a good one.  I think I always held the belief somewhere in my mind that no guy would be interested in me while I was fat. 

As I got toward my goal weight, I was sitting on the tram one day – one of those newly Spring days where the sun is out and suddenly everyone around is a COUPLE – all kinds of couples: fat, thin, gay, straight, pretty, ugly.  I felt kind of ripped off, this moment of realisation that I didn’t have to wait until I became perfect!

Of course, I didn’t run out and fall madly in love or anything like that (or you’d more than likely read all about it here).  If anything, I’ve been less interested in that kind of thing since losing weight.  I remember a friend saying ‘why did you bother losing weight if you’re not going out, shagging around?’ (typical male reaction, huh?) but I really did more flirting and cavorting when I was bigger.  I’m not sure why — maybe because I’m older or too exhausted from all the exercise or maybe I was just a drunken whore back then…lolz.  I rarely met guys who interest me and I don’t have the be-botheredness to seek them out.

Anyway, my point is that I don’t think being fat stops you from having a good relationship.  The evidence is out there.  Sure if you’ve got a good body, you are way ahead in the dating stakes – if you feel confident and sexy, you’re even further ahead – but it’s not compulsory.  There is no door bitch keeping the fat chicks out of the love club.

What I do think are that there are certain factors in some people’s lives that can cause relationship problems, those same factors can cause you to become overweight.  It’s not FAT = NO LOVE but rather those things being two symptoms of a deeper problem.

I’m not sure what that problem is  – I could chuck it in huge bucket called ‘low self esteem’ or ‘sexual repression’ or some other generic label but I really don’t think they apply to me.  It’s more like a tangled ball of wool that I can’t even find the end too.

At the end of the day, the weight issues are so much easier – I mean calories in vs calories out: if only the rest of life came with such a simple equation.

4 responses to “101 days

  1. Never heard of that author, but that does sound like a good book!

  2. I’ll have to get that book.
    Olga Berg outlet (Cromwell St) DOES have luggage…mmmm… luggage
    you’re right about the fat = no love thing not being true. It’s more lieky to be the other way around

  3. Damn, I thought it was my enormous arse stopping everyone from falling in love with me- turns out no-one is just that into me 🙂 !

  4. I have just found your blog and I LOVE it. I am looking forward to crawling through your archive and following your preparation for Japan! So exciting! Good luck 🙂
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

