Procrastination

I really should go for a run today.  I’m trying to talk myself into it but I really, really, really don’t feel like it.  Because I hurt my foot then got sick, I’ve done no running other than Run for the Kids in the past three weeks.  I had planned a long run today but the thought of it just makes me want to crawl back into bed and pull the covers over my head.  Maybe a shorter run is better than no run at all.

Went to V Festival yesterday.  We only wanted to see the Smashing Pumpkins so we turned up late in the day.  Caught the first two songs of Duran Duran – they did Hungry like the Wolf which is the only Duran Duran song I like so that was lucky, then went to the other stage to get a good position.  We ended up about about 15 rows back from the stage so had a good view except for the boof head guy who kept putting his arms up to take photos.  Seriously, camera phones should be banned from these things – they are so annoying.

I’d forgotten how much I love the Smashing Pumpkins until they started playing.  Some bands, and some songs are just tied up with parts of your life and memories that they pack this huge punch of emotional resonance.  All up, totally awesome – even with the long guitar wank solos thrown in.

It was a weird festival, being over 18s only.  You could drink everywhere – I actually had a couple of beers which is unheard of for me.  I never drink at festivals on account of not wanting to spend half the day queueing for overpriced drinks.  I swear most of the crowd looked like they’d been sitting in their bedrooms since the 90s waiting for the Smashing Pumpkins to tour – same hair, same clothes, everything.  Of course the other half had been sitting in their bedrooms since the 80s!

Other than that, I’ve been eating far, far too much lately.  I’ve been eating to the point where I feel sick then I keep going.  I guess you’d call that bingeing!  I don’t know what’s bought this on lately – I guess feel a total lack of control.  If there’s food around, I eat it and if there’s not, I go out and buy it.  I guess actually getting my butt out the door and going for a run is the first step in the right direction.

4 responses to “Procrastination

  1. Oh mate – I am so with you – really struggling with the “I have to do a long run and I’m too scared so I won’t do anything’ thing? AND the eating. I’m writing my weight minus 1kg on my hand so I see it when I’m reaching for yet another uneccessary mouthful.
    Maybe it’s the weather?
    We CAN beat it.

  2. I’ve had a big-eating, no-exercise weekend too and feeling horrible about it too.

  3. ive been way overeating for the last few weeks… jumped on the scales…and went yikes… tomorrow i start being good

  4. It’s the being sick! Your body longs for comfort food. Happens to me most times I get sick.

Leave a Reply

