Monday Thoughts

I had my last editing class tonight (maybe we have one next week but I’ll be Tassie and I don’t care). I turned up late, did my proofreading test and left. I’m so glad it’s over. I don’t mind editing, I just hate learnin’

After class I went to Borders and read some diet books for inspiration and motivation (I didn’t even eat chocolate fudge while doing so). I can’t remember the name of one, but it had some good info. The usual advice but very big on the need for the right attitude – you need to believe you can lose weight.

I used to have that attitude once – I had an unshakable belief and a single minded determination. I lost it somewhere over the last year. I need to get it back. I started thinking things like my metabolism had gone screwy and that I had to do a zillion hours of exercise a day to make a difference. Then I started thinking little treats wouldn’t really hurt… that big treats wouldn’t hurt. Eat it now and work it off later!

Of course I can lose weight. I lost over 40 kgs. It didn’t involve pain and suffering, just discipline and a bit of self-control. I need to believe 😀

I also browsed one of the Gillian Michaels’ books – Making the Cut. I’m not a fan of the Biggest Loser but this looked interesting: a book about losing those last few pounds.

Are you in good shape but struggling with those last ten to twenty pounds that stand between looking perfectly okay and looking knock-their-eyes-out great? Do you have an event on the calendar where you’d love to make jaws drop? Or do you just want to see for yourself what it would be like to have the best body you’ve ever had in your life? Then you need this book.

Making the Cut is a unique, intense thirty-day program from TV’s toughest fitness guru, Jillian Michaels. It has one purpose: to maximize your diet and fitness potential so you’ll get dramatic results at an accelerated pace.

There are a million books on how to losing weight, most of them saying the same stuff (some just saying downright wacky shit), then you have your full on weight training/serious athlete books but this is the first book I’ve seen that is aimed at the Advanced Dieter. We know all about drinking enough water and exercising and eating right. We’re in sight of the finish line and need something to get us to the ribbon.

She basically says up front either follow her program to the letter or don’t follow it at all.  I read enough of the book to know I couldn’t follow it.  I really didn’t like the exercise program she prescribes.  Basically its all circuit weight training, I’m assuming you get some cardio benefits from working through the circuit without taking a break (there were some sprints thrown in there too).  I read it and thought – but what about my running (not that I’ve done a lot lately), and boxing and… well, I just don’t have time for that circuit stuff too.

Now I’m not a famous TV fitness personality and I might not know much, but I found it strange – your daily calories are based on your resting metabolism rate (ie. you are taking in an equal number of calories to what you’d burn without exercise) so the weight loss component is totally based on the deficit caused by exercising.  That I can understand but, since the exercise plan is weight training based with no cardio, I’d have thought that while you are getting in better shape, you’d not be losing a lot of kgs.  You’d be losing body fat and gaining muscle rather than just losing fat.  Does that make sense? Not that it’s a bad thing, just strange when the book is focused on losing “those last 20 pounds.”

Oh yeah, I mentioned my editing class at the beginning of this post for a reason.  I’ve been completely half-arsed about this subject all year.  I turned up for the test tonight not having attended a single class of the unit or having opened a book once to study.  It was an open book test and I knew it’d be piss-easy.  It’s been a calculated decision all year – the subject is compulsory and I’m not that interested in it.  No one will publish my novel based on my marks in Editing 1.

It got me thinking though about how I do tend to not put much effort into things.  I have a gift for knowing the minimum I can do to get by, especially in study and work situations.  Not that I do a half-arse job, I’m just not passionate it.

Then I asked myself what do I do, that I do with all my heart.  Writing for sure – I want to feel like I’m constantly pushing against the limits of my abilities.  Running – even if I’m not fast or good, I always want to improve and am competitive against myself.  I guess most of the exercise I do, I’m like that.

What does this mean? I guess it’s about making time for the things I care about and giving them priority in my life.  It’s so easy for the everyday crap to take over but you never get that time back.  I think some re-prioritising is in order.

10 responses to “Monday Thoughts

  1. Good plan.
    Once you’re really clear on your priorities – and that you are allowed to pursue them – then the little decisions are easier.

  2. Oh hon, I so needed to read this right now. I’ve actually been having a rotten couple of weeks but trying to focus on the positive. Reading this is inspiring and I definitely need to keep focus on the priorities. It sure is easy for the everyday crap to take over and lose focus. I sure did. We’ll have to toast to setting our priorities straight on Thursday!!! x

  3. Good luck.
    refocusing on one or two things that are really important is a really good idea. You are right, sometimes life just gets in the way (or we let it) and we forget about the things that really mean something too us.
    There must be motivation in the water, I’m feeling it too!

  4. Sometimes we just coast… and then we hit that “no.. this is it!” No more floundering around in the water, time to dive on in!

    That Jillian Michael book sounds interesting.. I can understand how it would work. By setting the cal intake at your BMR (basal metabolic rate – resting rate) and by doing circuit work, the increase in muscle mass would make BMR higher… and burn more cals…

  5. Speaking of getting your priorities right – do you have any time to play Tag? I’ve tagged you Kathryn, details on my blog etc etc. It’s a good exercise in reflecting priorities…

  6. an interesting read.. i have heard before wieght etc are necessary to rid those last pesky kgs.. id be quite interested in reading her book.. shes a hard A$$ alright

  7. Oooh that book sounds like something just up my street.

    I’m really enjoying all the circuit training aspects of my bootcamp and I’m keen to continue once the course has finished.

    Good luck with setting your priorities. I seem to have lost the knack of prioritising unless it comes to eating food and drinking alcohol, which is always top of my list 😳

  8. ‘Advanced dieters’… I like that 🙂

    I reckon it’s probably better as a writer to forget about all that grammar stuff anyway 🙂 That’s what editors are for! And if you’re thinking about whether the comma should go inside or outside the quote mark rather than whether what your writing makes sense, chances are it’ll be much harder to edit anyway. So yay for skipping class! LOL.

    Looking forward to seeing you Thurs 🙂

  9. Even tho the book says you need to follow it to the letter, i personally believe you could adapt it with your favorite exercise such as boxing.
    i have done my own versions of circuit training, even light ones at home where i intersperse some lunges with some running on the spot, with some arm small weight exercises aka Joyce Vedral. i would say that circuit training is a cardio exercise for sure, as you do not lift very heavy. if you had not exercised in years you might regain some lost muscle of a few pounds quickly. But the person who has is already doing some exercise usually only puts on a couple of pound of muscle at most over a few months. Say you have a break from fitness even with a broken leg, the muscle gets lost fast, but after plaster off muscle regained fast. But if you are already exercising over the last few years right up to week before starting gillian’s exercise, you would not put much muscle on with circuit training over 2 months.
    YOu could however raise your metabolism considerably, because after that kind of exercise the body burns calories a bit faster for maybe 24 hours. The other great thing is by combining weights with cardio you get the exercise done fast, and it is spread over all the muscles, so you are less likely to cause an injury from overdoing say running calf muscles or shoulders with boxing. That means you do not miss any workouts, and the consistency can help get the results. The other thing with circuits is you can fine tune it if a bit sick, or if a bit tired, or if more energetic, and be also less inclined to miss a workout, or to risk overdoing it and running self down. Marathons are great, but often there may be time to get there and set up, and by the time one finishes one can be over hungry and overeat cos blood sugar is low. Then one may not feel like running much for a week.
    With the circuit training one could go too hard also and need a week off, but generally it is easy to choose the pace and weights to fit a good steady workout and be able to do a few consistently each week, without taking so much time it is hours since lunch and then needing to overeat due to low blood sugar.
    However i think it would be entirely possible to have a jog walk some of the way to the boxing class, and just do a half boxing class, then some lunges and stretches or something like this, or to do boxing one day, run walk the next, provided one takes it at a steady pace keeping pulse up, but not too high. if one goes too hard with the boxing or running while carrying weight as well, sometimes one is overhungry after the exercise, so that is where sometimes mixing it up with 5 minutes boxing, a few lunges, and then a walk or such can be less tiring, and stop overeating cravings. Naturally we are all different in how much we can exercise without the blood sugar dropping too low, sometimes having a healthy meal at afternnoon tea time, means an evening jog does not leave a person needing a sugar fix. Sometimes eating an apple on the walk cool down at end of run or circuit training is enough to recarb a little, and stop over hungries later.

    in the old days they used to talk about getting in the zone with aerobic classes, where your pulse goes a bit higher at times, and fluctuates, but you keep it fairly steady in fat burning zone. Higher can burn more calories, but tends to leave overtired and not able to have energy to make a healthy dinner, or not feeling like walking the next day much etc.
    So i would say one can adapt Gillain’s thing, but with the idea that one spread one’s workouts over all 4 limbs and over a wide range of muscles, and hold to a fairly steady pace, with a few sprints or boosts to heart rate, but nothing for so long it leaves you over hungry or at risk of injury, or not able to exercise much for 2 days.

    Are you going to hike around Tasmania, climb some trails while you are there? Considering you have got so fit with running, i would say you would probably burn a pile of calories hiking around the countryside there, and it could be great fun, and a great break from the pc etc. i am sure you could get into a groove with the exercise without needing circuit training.

  10. I’m having a disaster time with my eating too. I’m seriously considering getting some counselling. Either that, or I need signs everywhere like LBTEPA.

Leave a Reply

