I Did It!

I ran the half marathon.  My body hurts in 58 different places but I did it.  I actually stood on the start line this morning with no confidence in my ability to run 21 kms – just wanting it all to be over.  We finally got started and it hurt.  After about 2 kms, I realised that I could do it.  I mean there was only another 19 kms to go.

My mate Tim was waiting around the 5 km mark with Powerade and supplies.  I had a drink and put a gel in my bra for later, then moved on.  Another km down the road I saw the awesome cheersquad of Jo, Sara and Alison  – then went around Albert Park to see Tim again.

I’d been worried cos there was a 80 minute cutoff at the 11 km mark, but made it easy.  It was a real confidence booster to reach that 11 km point and realise I’d made it more than halfway (bummer that the drink station before it had run out of water though).  Running along the beach got a bit stifling – I thought there would be a nice cool breeze but no.  Since when is there no breeze at St Kilda beach?

Got to Fitzroy St and realised I was in far from the worst state I’d ever been along Fitzroy St (not that that’s saying much – I think most of the drunken debauchery of my life happened on that street!).  Started feeling a bit fatigued as I reached the top of the street – I didn’t even realise there was a hill before today – but then it dawned on me that I had to pass the awesome cheersquad again, and I couldn’t do that NOT running.

I thought running back along St Kilda Rd would be the worst part of the run – I used to work on St Kilda Rd and, in my mind, it’s about 20 kms long (really it’s about 3-4 kms) because I spent so long stuck on trams for hours getting to and from work.  But it wasn’t so bad, knowing I’d almost finished.  I met up with Tim again and stopped to have some more Powerade and chat (yeah… I stopped to chat in the middle of the run…).  Bad move – I shouldn’t have stopped running altogether because it hurt to start again.  It hurt a lot.

When we got to bridge (can’t remember the name of it – the bridge near the MCG), there was a real bottleneck.  The vols kept telling people to keep to the right but lots of people didn’t listen.  I wanted to pass people but was very aware that some of the finishers for the marathon would be coming through.

Got to the G and saw Em on the side, cheering after her 10 km run.  Man, it’s a long way around the G… it seemed like the longest part of the run.  Finally got through the gate and onto the ground.  Heaps of people walking to the finish, so I had to duck and weave around them.  Arrrggghhh, people with prams walking 2-3 abreast.  There was a big inflated yellow thing and I thought that was the finish line so used all my energy getting to that only to find the finish line a bit further on!

I didn’t even check my time when I finished.  I went down and got my goodie bag and picked up my stuff.  Ha, I’m a bad influence.  I think I talked two of the volunteers at the bag pickup to actually run next year 😀

Afterwards, I’d like to have stayed around and watch people finishing the marathon but my friends wanted to go get coffee so we went off.  Everywhere was packed and Simon and I could hardly walk.  Finally got in to Arcadia in Gertrude St.  I used to go there when it was cool and grungey.  Now it’s renovated and crap.

When I finished my coffee, we went back out to Gertrude St and I saw the tram coming.  Here’s a hint: when you’ve run 21 kms then sat down, DON’T try to sprint for your tram.  I think my screams shattered eardrums three suburbs away.

Wowsers – my time’s up on the site already.  I did it in just under 2 hours 26 minutes.  I’m happy with that – I thought about 2 and a half hours.  Simon wanted to go under 2 hours and he did 1.45.  I just rang to tell him how impressed I am!

19 responses to “I Did It!

  1. Kathryn I am THRILLED for you!!!! What an absolutely AWESOME effort!!! Holy cow! I mean, that’s amazing!! Yippee!! Woo Hoo! And everything other adjective! I am sitting here sooooo excited! Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!! So what’s a little bit of pain when you’ve run a HALF MARATHON!

  2. Well done chick!!! Bloody amazing! Hope that you bounxe out of bed in the morning!!!

  3. That’s wicked. Congratulations.

  4. What a fantastic job. You’re a WARRIOR!!!
    I reckon it will be relatively easy getting out of bed tomorrow morning – it only hits you 24 hours after so wait for the agony mid morning followed by a overwhelming urge to nap for the rest of the day.
    At least that is what happened to me and I only ran 9kms!

  5. Congratulations Kathryn! You are AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Legend of Awesomeness that’s what you are!! Well done matey….

  7. Kathryn thats awesome news! Well done babe! Who’d have thunk you could do this when we first met all that time ago?

  8. I am in awe of you mate, running that distance!!! I hope your body does not try and kill you tomorrow as well!

  9. Congratulations Kathryn – that is fantastic.

  10. Well done Kathryn, that is a great result, I knew you dould do it! Hope you feel better tomorrow than I think I am going to!

  11. CONGRATULATIONS! YOU LOOKED GREAT!!!!
    Serioulsy I am sooooooooo happy for you ((hugs))

  12. Congrats Kathryn, what a massive achievement!! You should be so proud of yourself!!!!

  13. Woo Hoo, you rock Kathryn!!! You are a 1/2 Marathoner!! Congratulations on your awesome achievement 😀 😀

  14. Well done!!! great effort!

  15. Well done!! I was stoked when I saw you, my subconscious brain went “hey, you know that chick” before my real brain caught up 😆

    Good on you, that’s your first HM down, you rule!

  16. WOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO how bloody exciting! I can just picture you going past all those landmarks. CONGRATULATIONS Kathryn, that is so cool 🙂 🙂 🙂

  17. That’s fabulous Kathryn. I am so happy for you. Well done. You rock!

  18. Congratulations and great time too! It was great to see you and still looking so hot in your skirt at that time- well done and I hope you feel okay today!

  19. Congratulations! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

