1 Sleep (not counting naps)

I went for a run last night, just 5 kms.  I didn’t want to and was in two minds about it.  On one hand, I thought any running I did yesterday would make no difference to my half marathon performance but the other hand was the one that had a chocolate cupcake for arvo tea and needed to burn off some calories!

I actually felt better that I have for a while – I think the combination of yoga and getting lots of water and powerade into me.  This morning I had a few niggles but did some yoga stretches and feel better now.

I had lots of time on my hands at work yesterday – waiting for things to load and update – so read up a bit about yoga.  One article said a good way to get into it is to do start off doing 10 minutes of sun salutations at least 4-5 times a week when you wake up.  I’ve decided that’s very do-able so my goal for the next few months is to do just that.

Other than that, I’m a bit nervous.  I’ve got an assignment for my editing class to get done today (been slack and left it to the last minute) plus I’ve got to go over to my friend’s place.  I don’t think I mentioned this before but my best friend (and partner of my running buddy), Tim is coming down to the start of the run tomorrow then riding his bike down to Fitzroy Street with gels and drinks for us so we should see him twice on our way around the course.  Then he’s riding back to the finish to meet up with us again.  Got to love Tim.    My sister’s coming down to the finish too – she reckons that’s more effort for her than running the half is for me (she does have chronic fatigue).

10 responses to “1 Sleep (not counting naps)

  1. Yeah and i’m packing, which is WAY more effort output than all of you put together!! hehe
    Truly you are awesome and Tim obviously realises your awesomeness and wants to get in on your coat tails – or running skirt hem – as the case may be!

  2. How nice to have that support…. good luck for the run tomorrow, I am sure you will do good mate.

  3. Good luck – you’ll be fantastic – I’ll be sending positive energy your way to spur you on to the finish line. xxx

  4. hopefully catch ya tomorrow..sleep well..tomorrow will be great

  5. GOOD LUCK- I will be with the coolRunning cheer squad shouting out “Run Faster” at the bottom of Fitzroy Street.

  6. All the best! Have another cup cake, you need to top up your glycogen stores. Seriously. Forget about calories or what you “should” eat – this is one time when you can carb up and not feel the least bit guilty.

    Enjoy the day. 🙂

  7. i seriously want to get into yoga but there isn’t any in this whole bloody city! I am wondering if it is something you can do through books? What ya reckon?

  8. Am looking forward to reading your race report. You go girl!

Leave a Reply

