Plans

Firstly, I took the laptop in to get fixed this morning and the bloody thing worked perfectly.  Good for my wallet but embarassing and annoying.  Oh and here’s a tip: it might be nice to look at pics of half naked footy players as your background but it’s mighty embarassing when you have to take your computer to be repaired!

Half-marathon plans:  I went to the gym last night cos it was too yucky outside to run, and I noticed something interesting: my leg problems are more from cramping than muscle soreness.  I have all manner of weird shit because of dodgy electrolyte levels in my body – cramping and getting dizzy spells when I stand up too (my blood pressure drops too quickly).  It only happens occasionally and the doctors aren’t really concerned but it’s annoying.  So, to combat this, I’m getting stuck into the Powerade plus my yoga teacher suggested muscle relaxant tablets (after I had a cramping fit in yoga) so hopefully she’ll have those for me tonight.

The other interesting thing I noticed is that the calf cramps are worse when I run slow because I’m using my calf muscles more.  When I picked up the speed, my upper legs are working harder and taking the load off the calves. 

I’m thinking that maybe on Sunday the plan will be to alternate running faster with walking rather than trying to stick to an even pace – when I stop to walk, it eases the cramps much more than stretching (I can barely stretch the muscles when they’re cramping).

After Sunday Plans:  To stop feeling so panicked, I’ve been trying to focus on my goals and plans, post-Sunday.  I’ve got a lot going on atm:

  • Six week weight loss blitz starting Monday to get in shape for my nan’s 95th.  Have to look my best for seeing the rellos.
  • Getting ready for my go-go dancing demo (ie. not wagging class to play Singstar & doing some practice)
  • More cross training, including finding a boxing class once a week, more yoga, more pilates, more weight training.  
  • Runningwise, I want to take things easy for a few weeks then start training for the Lorne Mountain to Surf.  I’m not aiming for a particular time or anything – instead my challenge for this year is to run (not walk) all the bloody hills/mountains at the start. 
9 responses to “Plans

  1. great about the pooter..i hope you have backed up when you got home!great idea to have post race goals…a lot of people are a lttle lost when they accomplish something they have spent a lot of time focussed on..

  2. I like how you have a post goal goal. Something to keep the momentum going.

    LOL about the background for the computer!!! Who cares what they think? Bet they have half clothed chicks on theirs.

  3. hi kathryn,

    can i ask where you go for massage? i live on the same side of town as you, and i am looking for a massage therapist recommendation. everything hurts! i have ‘problem calves’ myself 😉

    good luck with the half-marathon!!!!

  4. Computers will do that to you … just like when you take your kids to the doctor and they feel better!

  5. Great news about your computer. Agree about looking your best for the rellos. Knock ’em dead!

  6. I am very lucky to have a computer literate son who can fix most of my problems.. and my background picture is of our darling dog Izzy… no half naked men around here.. well not right this minute anyway! *big smiles*

  7. A few years back, did you ever, in your wildest dreams, imagine you would be writing the words
    ‘Getting ready for my go-go dancing demo’?
    It really is just rather surreal!

  8. OMG I can’t believe your computer is so sneaky!! Hope the half goes well, i’ll be thinking of you while i’m packing shit into boxes. I’m sure if you weren’t doing the half you would come and help me! LOL

  9. Don’t you just hate computers when they do that!!

    It happens when I call the IT guy at work to come an fix something, and then when he arrives at my desk, it’s all working agin!!

    Love the idea of post race plans…..I have only 1. To get fit enough for the Oxfam Trailwalker.

Leave a Reply

