5 Sleeps To Go

Went for a run to test out the new running skirt last night.  It has built in knickers so I wore it with my skins over the knickers but under the skirt, which wasn’t 100% successful (I either had to hitch the skirt up too high or have the waist band of the skins too low).  I might have to experiment more.  I do like wearing the running skirt though – I wear skirts more than pants in real life so it’s a lot more natural for me 😀

As for the actual running – arrgghh.  My calves are so freaken tight – I had to stop and stretch them 4 times in a 5 km run!  I did lots of stretches when I woke up this morning and will stretch every morning and night this week. 

I’ve also got a sore heel.  I’ve been looking up info on achilles problems and PF online and it doesn’t seem like either of those – it didn’t hurt when I ran, just when I walk.  I’ve only got one pair of decent (non-hurty) work shoes but the heel on the left shoe has kinda collapsed over the past few months and, weirdly enough, most of my injury problems have been on my left side.  Coincidence?  So I’m wearing comfortable shoes to work this week (it’s just a bitch to work out an outfit around them).

Oh, and last but not least, I’m absolutely convinced I’m getting a cold.  I refuse to take stuff like Codral because they just mask the symptoms, making you sicker in the long term, but I’m popping Lemon Sip First Signs – filled with echinacea and Vit C and garlic and stuff.  I’ve got echinacea drops at home which are supposed to be more effective but they taste like hard boiled arse.

11 responses to “5 Sleeps To Go

  1. Get into the Vitamin C. It’s OK to double the dose if it’s only for a day or so.

    I reckon wear the skins commando style and put the skirt over the top.

  2. Eeeewwww, hardboiled arse!
    Maybe the heel is just a bruise?

  3. I’ve never tried hard-boiled arse – sounds yummy. Echinacea tea is quite bitter, but you get used to it. I guess it might be similar. And STOP STRESSING over the half. It’s just another run. Your aim is to get finish. The work is done. You’ll be fine. Enjoy the experience.

  4. Hope you get better and as per Louise up there above me- you will be fine- seriously you have done all the work and now it is time for the GLORY!

  5. Tight calves = tight achilles = sore heel
    Stretching will fix it.
    Looking forward to screaming encouragement at you as you ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM by on Sunday !

  6. I have never heard of a running skirt before.
    good luck for this weekend!

  7. What the hell does a hard boiled arse taste like 😆 ??

    Th running skirt sounds good. I can just imaging running with the skirt swooshing, nice 🙂

    Take care this week Kathryn, you have worked so hard for this 😀

  8. Bwooharhar – hard boiled arse – cracking me up still.

  9. Hi Kath

    I have been reading for a while but never commented 🙂

    I have been having issues with my heel for a while now and self-diagnosed plantar facitiis (sp?). If that is what it is, it tends not to hurt at the time but can be hours or days after the fact. I find if I do a big walk my heels are killing me the next morning but I can get through the walk ok.

    Keep up the calf stretches and it should help. It is the calves and not the heels that are the problem with PF.

    As for the cold, I agree echinacea is gross and over-rated. Lemsip should help. I can’t say what boiled arse tastes like though – I might have to take your word for it 🙂

  10. Good luck with not getting a cold! Dan and I are sick now. Maybe we took it on for you 🙂

  11. Bwahaha…sorry, the running skirt, knickers and skins scenario has got all kind of crazy imagery going on in my head 😉

Leave a Reply

