Gym

About three months ago, I suspended my Fitness First membership. I could only suspend it for three months and they hold me it would go through until the 11st Jan. So the other day I went in to sort it out and, apparently the payment goes through on the 11th but it actually become unsuspended on the 7th. I have no idea how that works but I figure since I have to pay for a fortnight’s membership before I re-suspend it, I’m going to get my money’s worth.

I went in last night and did some cardio and weights. Tonight I want to do a Body Balance class and tomorrow Boxing. Because it’s so hot, I’m torn between wanting to go over to the St Kilda gym because it has a pool and not wanting to spend time in my unair-conditioned car.

I went into Borders the other day and read a few books on half marathon training then sat down and created an excel spreadsheet with all my training for the next 5 months, encompassing the Run for the Kids and a couple of other fun runs I have planned.

My plan at the moment is to do two medium length runs during the week and a long run on the weekend. When the R4TKs training runs start up, I’ll drop one of the midweek runs for two of those, bumping it up to 4 runs a week. The plan is pretty flexbile since I often do my long runs with my friend Simon so need to schedule around him.

I also want to increase the distance but include walk breaks – I figure I’ll burn heaps more calories doing say 15 kms of 2 km running, 1 km walking than just doing a 10 km.

My plan also includes 3 cross training sessions a week – I want to do boxing at least once a week because I need some cardio that works the upper body, then just a mix of cardio machines or walking. Also yoga once or twice a week and a couple of weight training sessions.

Right now, I’m hoping it cools down enough so that I can go for a run tonight. If not, I’ll run on the treadie at the gym before my Body Balance class.

I’ve been reading this blog – health advice from my fave radio station, RRR. Definitely worth a look.

7 responses to “Gym

  1. Good luck for the HM training. I already have my plan all set out for the coming months and am looking forward to it.

  2. Thanks for your support ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep up the good work. Gill

  3. Are you bloody crazy? It’s way too hot to be doing so much exercise! You ARE the exercise Queen baby!
    Bri

  4. I’m exhausted just reading this. Go you!

  5. that sounds exxxxxxxxxcellent. how you enjoyed the body balance, milk that two weeks for all it’s worth, hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’ve decided I want to give Yoga a go too. I reckon the core strengthening and flexibility will really help the running. It’s just a matter of finding a Yoga class when I get to Perth.

    I’m aiming for a half too, but I’m planning on a run/walk just to cover the distance! I want to run 12-15km of it – I reckon that’d be awesome!!

  7. Grrr, credit cards are a bit of a gripe of mine lately. Too many “incorrect” deductions for my liking but I hope you ar enjoying going back to FF!?

    Good going with planning out your runs. What a great idea and it’ll help you plan other stuff around it like training etc. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

