Stupid Run

I went out for a run althis morning, intending to do an easy 5 km but was enjoying myself so kept going. Ended up doing 11.5 km — oops! I did end up walking the last couple of kms. My damn running shoes – every time I go for a long run or a run when it’s hot, my feet must swell and the shoes get very very tight across the toes causing blisters and pain. I so can’t afford new running shoes at the moment so I’m just going to have to put up with it.

Woohoo, I just got a call about a job. Interview tomorrow.

Yesterday I worked out the runs I want to do for the next six months. The main ones are:

1/5 Lorne Mountain to Surf

7/2Sunset Series 1 @ Zoo (running through the zoo, how cool is that?)

1/4 – Run For the Kids – I’m so excited about this one.

20/5 – Great Ocean Road Half Marathon

That’s a whole world of challenges.

8 responses to “Stupid Run

  1. Hi Kathryn!
    great to meet you on Saturday – it was so fun and Beck is amazing! 11.5km?? you legend!!
    I did the zoo run last year – it’s great fun (note to self – must do it in 07). Good luck with your training 🙂

  2. oh and good luck for the job today!!

  3. Fingers crossed for the job. Very easy to see how you could mistake 5kms for 11.5kms….. not! Have a great day.

  4. Oh Kathryn, I have been raking my brains trying to think of a race to do before R4K. I completely forgot about the Sunset Series. Thanks 🙂
    Good luck for the job!!

  5. Those runs sound great 🙂 I haven’t even tried my new running shoes yet!!! eeek you can borrow them if you want 🙂

    Good luck for the interveiw tomorrow!!!

  6. On the blisters – check your socks. Cotton isn’t the best fabric – it absorbs sweat, stays wet and tends to cause friction, resulting in nasty blisters.

    Go for running socks in a synthetic fabric that wicks the moisture away from your skin.

    Of course, shoes that fit well are a must too…but as you say, expensive!

  7. ooh good luck with the interview, fingers crossed for ya! toes and eyes too X-)

    Those races sounds great, especially the Great Ocean Rd half.. that’d be spectacular!

  8. Not sure how 11.5km is stupid!! I’d love to get swept up in the swing of things and suddenly realise I’d just run 5km more that I intended!!! Unfortunately I’m still at the stage where my lungs rather noisily remind me I have done enough.

Leave a Reply

