Thinking

“All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy, for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.” –Anatole France.

I read that quote tonight and it made a sense of some of the crazy moods I’ve had over the past year.

Went to Foreigner last night. Heaps of fun and I just about knew every song, but the only original member of the band was the guitarist so it was almost like a cover band. For those who asked, I won the tickets by ringing the Beat Magazine office at the designated time. Pretty boring, huh. It’s not like I had to do something potentially embarassing like interpretive dance to my fave Foreigner song or anything.

A few months ago, we went out in St Kilda and had dinner at a place called The Gourmet Burger Company. They have a burger called the Camembert In There that sounded yum but at the time I was being extra cautious and gave it a miss. So I’d been planning my pre-show burger for ages and was so careful to not eat too much yesterday. I could taste that burger. My mouth watered all day in anticipation. Then we got there and they were closed. Damn it all.

We ended up going to BBNT and I got a chicken burrito. Yum still but no Camembert In There burger. I had a side of chips but only ate about a third of the packet. Go me. I didn’t need any more.

6 responses to “Thinking

  1. go you, indeed 😀 and camembert in there! that is genius!

    now i must leave your page in order to get I Wanna Know What Love Is out of my head!

  2. mmm you can have all my camambert in future 🙂 Thats one food I don’t have to worry about ever over eating.
    Well done for planning so far in advance though.

  3. Good for you! I have a hard time turning down the chips but I am starting to see that I don’t have to eat every single one to feel satisfied. I found this out at the grocery store when they pass out samples. I had enjoyed a sample so mucht that is dawned on me that I didn’t need to buy the whole cake. The sample was enough. 🙂
    Now if they could just start sampling everything I will be on my way!
    Keep it up!

  4. That is an awesome quote….I am always talking about how change makes us so sad because we hold onto the loss rather than embracing the gains.

  5. Glad to hear you enjoyed the concert – even better that you had won the tickets and didn’t have to pay for them.
    Me

  6. That quote is what similar to what I meant about having an identity crisis when getting to goal. Sometimes I pine for certain things from the past (not food, but other stuff) but I know right now and the future of not having that in my life is so much better me.

    Go you with the food but damn, I want that Camembert In There too now, yum.

Leave a Reply

